Songs of Experience
01 December, 2017
  1. Love Is All We Have Left Lyrics
  2. Lights of Home Lyrics
  3. You’re The Best Thing About Me Lyrics
  4. Get Out of Your Own Way Lyrics
  5. American Soul Lyrics
  6. Summer of Love Lyrics
  7. Red Flag Day Lyrics
  8. The Showman (Little More Better) Lyrics
  9. The Little Things That Give You Away Lyrics
  10. Landlady Lyrics
  11. The Blackout Lyrics
  12. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way Lyrics
  13. 13 (There is a Light) Lyrics

Songs of Experience is the companion release to 2014’s ‘Songs of Innocence’, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18th century English mystic and poet William Blake. Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evan.

The lyrical approach of the album was greatly inspired by Irish poet, novelist and Trinity College, Dublin Professor Emeritus Brendan Kennelly’s advice to Bono to “write as if you’re dead’, resulting in a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart - family, friends, fans, himself.

Release Date:
01 December, 2017
Produced By:
Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas
Island/Universal Records
Recorded At:
Dublin/New York/Los Angeles